Oh no! Not again!

Yahoo UK News, http://uk.news.yahoo.com/dj-guilty-murdering-three-old-girl-192641154.html#fDhUPOA has the story of a young girl who has been murdered by her mother’s boyfriend. I am presuming that, because the little girl’s surname is different from the man’s surname, he was not her father. Yet, despite all the evidence, including that fount of all knowledge called Wikipedia, that when the man is not biologically related to the child there is a vastly increased probability of either physical or sexual abuse being inflicted on the child, mothers still cohabit with men when they have children. It happened with Baby P, and now it has happened again.

As Bob Dylan put it so eloquently, “When will they ever learn, when will they ever learn?”

About UK Fred

A Christian who cares that the church in Britain conforms to societal demands, rather than transforms society. I am particularly concerned with the lack of support for marriage and the acceptance of divorce in the church. I also care that the body politic in Britain seems to be corrupt and in need of a good shake-up.
This entry was posted in Law and society, Marriage and Society, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oh no! Not again!

  1. Availeth says:

    I think most women who choose that are hoping for a man to support her and her children, hoping he’ll be safe and caring not only toward her but toward “hers”, crossing over into a family role. Which— is a long-shot, they don’t seem to realize or believe. Lions and tomcats will kill cubs and kittens that are not theirs too. (I sometimes think males in general are dangerous creatures, but then I have other reasons for that, lol.) And DRAT YOU, Fred, now I have that SONG in my head (but mine is the Peter Paul & Mary version … I nvr heard Bob Dylan croak it out…ewww)!

    • UK Fred says:

      Hi Availeth

      I’ve got to admit that while Bob Dylan was a great songwriter, he was better leaving the singing to others.

      At least you know what the song is. I was in one of my professional examinations more years ago than I care to remember when Orville’s Theme, from Disney’s “The Rescuers” was going through my head and I just had to identify it before I could concentrate on the exam.

  2. churchmouse says:

    Thank you for highlighting the perils of ‘mum’s boyfriend’ — one of the greatest health and criminal hasards of our day. A search on ‘mom’s boyfriend’ reveals a litany of stories from an American perspective. Dangers include death for little ones and incest for older children.

    As we say in our household after reading or hearing similar stories, ‘The sex must have been good.’

    The article says:

    ‘The jury heard how Catwell had complained about being sidelined as his girlfriend gave more attention to her daughter.’

    Pitiful, just pitiful. Some of the Devil’s most evil work.

    • churchmouse says:

      Sorry, I shouldn’t have said ‘incest’ there, because it isn’t. But you know what I mean.

      • UK Fred says:

        I know exactly what you mean. I feel that what happened between Woody Allen and Soon-Yi Previn is almost incest even though Soon-Yi was adopted by Mia Farrow and Andre Previn.

    • UK Fred says:

      I believe that the devil’s most evil work was persuading the Church treat obedience to Scripture as optional, which has lead it to accept divorce as “nothing much, really” when it ought to have been working its socks off to encourage married couples to live together in an atmosphere of love and respect. Close second comes letting parents like me off the hook when our children fail to become believers as adults.

Leave a Reply

