Normal Service being Resumed (sort of)

I would like to thank all of you who have been praying for me for the problems I have been having with my leg. Much of the pain has now gone, but I still need some analgesia, which is affecting my sleeping and working patterns, and things have not been helped by several mini crises with my younger daughter trying to find a place to rent at University. She had it all together but some of her flatmates were rather less organised.

In the interim, I have been on holiday and enjoyed visiting the USA and while there, a couple of churches. I found that my impression of Americans was reinforced, that on their home turf they are among the most generous people on earth.

And then back to Earth, or rather Britain and its travails. This year several local educational authorities have informed parents that if their children miss a day of term time schooling without what the LEA considers to be reasonable excuse, the parents will be fined £60.00 (US$100) each for each absence. Now teachers have recently had a day on strike in several areas of the UK.

I do know just enough about contract law to be aware that one cannot impose conditions retrospectively. But I am aware that if the LEA can impose conditions like that then it is only equitable that the LEA should accept that when its schools fail to provide education on a day when it ought to have been provided the parents should be able to claim a similar amount from the LEA. Is this fair?

About UK Fred

A Christian who cares that the church in Britain conforms to societal demands, rather than transforms society. I am particularly concerned with the lack of support for marriage and the acceptance of divorce in the church. I also care that the body politic in Britain seems to be corrupt and in need of a good shake-up.
This entry was posted in Freedom and Society, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

