A Few Follow ups to Earlier Postings

Some time ago, I mentioned Brian and his wife who were having some problems with their relationship. while not everything has been resolved, Brian and his wife are now back together and I would like to thank everyone who prayed for this couple. When i was talking with Brian, I told him about the blog entry and although neither he nor his wife are Christian, he certainly accepted that in his case, prayer worked. so once again thank you for your prayers.

I also mentioned a problem with the police detaining a Christian street preacher in Edinburgh. I had e-mailed Kenny MacKaskill, the Scottish Justice Minister, to ask him to investigate this case. After having a holding reply and nothing else for almost four weeks, I e-mailed the civil servant at the ministerial correspondence unit to ask for details of when I could expect a substantive reply. In around twenty minutes, I had a reply that said I needed to complain to the Scottish Police, from another civil servant. I suspect that this was not merely coincidence.

I have been in touch with the Scottish Police, and a sergeant from the complaints department in Edinburgh has contacted me, giving the police side of the story. He asked if I was satisfied with what he had said, but I had to respond with the answer “No” because I felt that the more active policeman in the video was unnecessarily aggressive towards the cameraman. The police claim that they tried to engage the preacher but he was not prepared to engage with them while he was preaching, and they felt that they had no alternative but to unplug his microphone to get him to discuss the matter with them.

It does appear that there was a complaint that the preacher was using homophobic language, though there does not appear to have been any attempt to hear whether this was the case or not before attempting to ‘engage with the man who was preaching’.

I am to expect a visit from a local officer to take a statement from me, since I do not live in Edinburgh, but that should merely be a formality. I will keep posting progress reports on this blog.

About UK Fred

A Christian who cares that the church in Britain conforms to societal demands, rather than transforms society. I am particularly concerned with the lack of support for marriage and the acceptance of divorce in the church. I also care that the body politic in Britain seems to be corrupt and in need of a good shake-up.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Few Follow ups to Earlier Postings

  1. Deep Strength says:

    Great to hear about Brian and his wife. Hopefully they will come to know Jesus.

  2. Jon Gleason says:

    Thank you, Fred, I appreciate the update.

Leave a Reply

