Another Fine Mess

In my work, I come into contact with a large number of self-employed builders, bricklayers, carpenters, roofers, kitchen fitters and plumbers. In a large number of cases, I am the only Christian contact they meet on a regular basis. I have gotten to know some of them and there are good guys and bad guys, some that I would want to do work for me and some I would not let near my home.

Brian (name changed) came in to see me last week. He’s a meticulous workman, and every time you see him or his van, they are neat, clean and well presented. He’s also a glass half full man. But he was down, psychologically, and I had to ask how I could help. Then it came out. His wife wants to ‘get some space’ and is moving out into a rented house about 1/4 of a mile away from the family home where they have two boys of pre-teen/early teen age group. He is devastated and can’t understand it.

I know Brian well enough to know that he was telling me the truth when he said that since they had begun to go out together, he had never even wanted to look at another woman.

Now I’m not just posting this to ask folks to pray for Brian, his wife and their two boys, although I would like folks to pray for them all, but to bring the principles of divorce for irretrievable breakdown of marriage to the fore. If Brian’s wife simply continues to live apart from him and he agrees, she can start divorce proceedings in two years, or, if he refuses she can instigate the divorce without his consent after five years.

I think that most of my readers know that I feel that the whole governance of the UK has moved significantly away from the rules that were laid down by God when He delivered His laws to Moses. Divorce was only allowed in Israel when certain rules were broken, primarily when on party to a marriage committed adultery. Not only was this a sin against the spouse, but also against God. In Britain today, it is easier to get out of a marriage than it is to obtain release from an onerous business contract. Is this where we want to be?

I will end this by again asking for prayer. I still want you to pray for Brian, his wife and their children, and I also want you to pray for our legislators and our parliamentary draughtsmen who write the bills that become the laws, We need to pray that this latter group will start to produce laws that are in accordance with God’s laws.

About UK Fred

A Christian who cares that the church in Britain conforms to societal demands, rather than transforms society. I am particularly concerned with the lack of support for marriage and the acceptance of divorce in the church. I also care that the body politic in Britain seems to be corrupt and in need of a good shake-up.
This entry was posted in Marriage and Society, Obedience and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Fine Mess

  1. Jon Gleason says:

    This is heartbreaking, Fred. “Get some space” typically means “I’m my own person, I’m not really one with you, having given myself to you completely.” It is based on a 50/50 view of marriage, but God never intended marriage to be a 50/50 proposition, but a 100/100 giving up of self.

    If you speak to Brian again, tell him a friend of yours is praying for him without knowing his name, but God knows.

  2. ukfred says:

    Thanks, Jon. I have shared this with my Bible study group this evening. Neither of the couple is Christian, but Brian is a really nice guy who was devastated by this news.

  3. Norm says:

    I read on another forum about a similar situation in the USA. A man’s wife left him to “find herself” then decided she wanted to come back, which she did. Around a year later she initiated divorce proceedings. She claimed he was abusive to her and the kids. The man lost his house and only sees his children on weekends. Brian should at least let a lawyer know what is going on at the moment so she can’t come back and take the children and use them to get money. I realise adultery is the only case in which divorce is legal under God.

Leave a Reply

